We use cookies on this website. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings, you agree that you are happy to accept our cookies and for us to access these on your device. Find out more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings.

Wellcome Trust researchers elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences

7 May 2010

Dr Jimmy Whitworth
The Academy of Medical Sciences has this week announced its newly elected Fellows. These include more than a dozen researchers currently funded by the Wellcome Trust, whose expertise ranges from genetics to neuroscience to global health.

Dr Jimmy Whitworth, Head of International Activities at the Wellcome Trust, has also been elected to one of 40 Fellowships. Academy Fellows are elected for outstanding contributions to the advancement of medical science, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare.

Professor Sir John Bell, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said, "Our new Fellows illustrate the wealth of experience and diversity of talent amongst the UK's research community. I look forward to working with these skilled scientists to ensure their strengths across academia and industry are used to promote basic science discoveries, innovative healthcare and the rapid translation of research into patient benefits."

Among those Fellows who currently receive funding from the Wellcome Trust are:

  • Professor Anthony Costello, University College London
  • Professor Nicholas Craddock, Cardiff University
  • Professor Alun Davies, Cardiff University
  • Professor Inderjeet Dokal, Barts and the London, Queen Mary
  • Professor Alan Knox, University of Nottingham
  • Professor David Newby, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Sheena Radford, University of Leeds
  • Professor Nazneen Rahman, Institute of Cancer Research
  • Professor Geraint Rees, University College London
  • Professor William Richardson, University College London
  • Professor Christopher Shaw, Institute of Psychiatry, King's College London
  • Professor Richard Wise, Imperial College London
  • Professor Mark Woolhouse, University of Edinburgh

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Tuesday 22 June 2010.

The full list of this year's Fellows can be found on the Academy's website.

Image: Dr Jimmy Whitworth. Credit: Wellcome Images

Share |
> Home > News > 2010
Wellcome Trust, Gibbs Building, 215 Euston Road, London NW1 2BE, UK T:+44 (0)20 7611 8888