We use cookies on this website. By continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings, you agree that you are happy to accept our cookies and for us to access these on your device. Find out more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings.

South African Senior Research Fellows

International Senior Research Fellowships support outstanding postdoctoral scientists establishing their scientific careers in Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India and central Europe (Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary and Poland). Researchers from any country are eligible. The awards run for a period of five years and include a personal salary and ancillary support.

Current Fellows

Professor Gregory Blatch
Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology, Rhodes University, Grahamstown
The regulation of chaperones by co-chaperones: the mechanism of chaperone-based cytoprotection

Dr Gordon Brown
Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine, University of Cape Town
Dectin-1 and its role in the innate recognition of β-glucans and fungal pathogens

Dr Heinrich Hoppe
Division of Pharmacology, University of Cape Town Medical School, Cape Town
Endocytosis mechanisms and pathways in the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum

Dr Johanna Moolman-Smook
US/MRC Centre for Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Stellenbosch, Tygerberg
Identification of sarcomere-associated modifiers of cardiac phenotype in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy families

Dr Edward Sturrock
Division of Medical Biochemistry, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
Angiotensin-converting enzyme: crystallographic studies, structure-guided inhibitor design and ectodomain shedding

Dr Caroline Tiemessen
National Institute for Communicable Diseases, Sandringham
Innate and acquired cellular immunity in HIV-seropositive mothers and their infants

Past Fellows

Professor Albert Beyers
Department of Medical Biochemistry, University of Stellenbosch Medical School, Tygerberg
A study of the molecular basis of differential signal transduction in T lineage cells

Professor Frank Brombacher
Department of Immunology, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
Role of IL-4 and IL-13 in infectious diseases

Dr Arieh Katz
Department of Chemical Pathology, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
Analysis of the activation of Gq and G11 by the GnRH receptor

Professor Girish Kotwal
Department of Medical Microbiology, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
Elucidation of the structure-function relationship of vaccinia virus complement control protein

Dr Peter Meissner
Division of Hepatology, Department of Medicine, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
Variagate porphyria and protoporphyrinogen oxidase studies

Professor Lynn Morris
National Institute for Virology, Johannesburg
Neutralisation sensitivity and co-receptor usage of HIV-1 subtype C isolates: implications for HIV vaccine design

Professor Hugh Patterton
Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Cape Town, Cape Town
The role of linker histone H1 in chromatin structure and the regulation of gene expression

Share |
Home  >  Funding  >  Biomedical science  >  Funded projects  >  Awards made  >  International funding  > South African Senior Research Fellows
Wellcome Trust, Gibbs Building, 215 Euston Road, London NW1 2BE, UK T:+44 (0)20 7611 8888